Nordic Music Video Awards 2016


We have been releasing this years shortlist in selections of 10 videos twice a week, and you can now check out our Tumblr page for the full list. We will very soon be ready with the nominations so check back shortly! It’s quite a selection we have for you this year.


First I would like to say we are amazed to see the incredible amount of talent and fantastic music videos that were made in 2015. It is truly an honour for us to be able to showcase this selection. This year we have added a new award to put focus on the younger generation of directors, and through this we have been able to lift up a few music videos that otherwise would have been pushed just below the cut.



12:00-16:00 at 657, Fredensborgveien 24D in Oslo

Meet reps from the record lables, nominate directors and artists at the Symposium for Nordic music videos. This Saturday, at 12:00, we will disscuss topcis concerning the future of music videos and dive deep into the creative work of a handfull of the nominated directors. Listen, mingle, drink some free drinks and enjoy the company!

Here is the program:
11:30 Doors open and Tøyen Cola is beeing served
12:00 Debate and case studies
15:00 Mingling and free drinks
17:00 Door closes and time to get ready for the award show!

Debate – The role of the commissioner:
Reps. from Sony Music Norway, Universal Music Norge and Copenhagen Records will discuss the future of music videos, and how to create a great music video with limited resources and huge ambitions. And of course they will be giving valuable advice on how to write a successful treatment.

Magnús Leifsson (Nominated with Milkewhale and Olafur Arnalds)
The only director how has been nominated all three years at Nordic Music Video Awards will talk about his DIY approach.

Marie Kristiansen (Nominated with Karpe Diem)
Took Norway by storm with her politicaly inflamed and poetic video for Karpe Diem which also earned her “Spellemannsprisen” for best music video.

Teemu Erämaa (Nominated with Pegboard Nerds)
Animator and director with a fascination towards dancing boobs in a 90´s arcade game world. But is there a deeper meaning behind it all?

Daniel Kragh-Jacobsen (Nominated with Reptile Youth)
A Mercedes-benz sponsored 8 minute long music video? Why on earth would I watch that? Well, you should. Winner of Music video of the year in 2014 is back with nothing more than a odysseys of a music video.

Take a look at last years event:

Award Show

20:00-22:00 at Cosmopolite Scene, Vogtsgate 64 in Oslo

Nordic Music Video Awards is the only award show that focuses solely on music videos from the Nordic countries. The aim of NMVA is to display the best of what the Nordic music video scene has to offer and show the value of music videos as an independent art form.

NMVA 2016 will be the third edition of the expanding event, and is shaping up to be the best one yet.

Get your tickets here: Ticketmaster

Come to witness this year’s best Nordic music video’s on the big screen, together with live performances by Norwegian artists Merone and Nina G.


After Party

After the show there will be an after party at Hva Skjer, in the same building as Cosmopolite, from 22:00.

Free entrance for everyone with a ticket to the award show.

About Us

A brand new initiative started in 2014, celebrating the art of music video in the Nordic countries. The first NMVA award show held on May 31 2014 was a grand celebration at Sentrum Scene in Oslo, Norway. Over 500 submitted videos proved that the NMVA initiative was an immediate success within the film- and music industry across the Nordic countries. But hey, we’re talking about movies here, so for NMVA 2015 we moved the award show to an old cinema –  the landmark Soria Moria building in Oslo, now host to Cosmopolite Scene. With the first ever NMVA symposium preceding the award show, NMVA 2015 became a glorious all-day event, culminating in an award show packed with highlights.

Previous Winners

Look back at the previous winners of Nordic Music Video Awards


We would like to thank NFI & Tøyen Cola for the support:


Tøyen Cola